Welcome!

Hello, and welcome to my blog! I’m very excited to start posting here.

I want to start by giving a big thanks to my sister, Kathryn, for giving me the idea for the blog name. It was actually the name of a blog she previously had, and she has kindly let me use it!

Once I decided I wanted to start a blog, I spent a lot of time thinking about what kind of blog it should be; and what I should write about- Whether that be politics, current events, a social commentary etc. etc. I’ve come to the conclusion that there are enough news outlets and blogs about all those topics. While I know that it is important to be aware and thinking critically about what goes on in politics and in the culture, I have found that it can be quite exhausting, being constantly bombarded with topics that are most often quite depressing. That is why I have decided to write on topics that are of a lighter note.  I think I had begun to believe that writing simply had to be a tool to make a statement or to use for social or political commentary. I felt like unless it was ten layers deep and took hours to annotate, a poem or essay had no real meaning- it wasn’t real ‘proper’ writing. And while, yes, that is all extremely important, I had forgotten about writing for pleasure, just as one may read for pleasure. Not necessarily because they want to learn something new or gain insight into something, but because it relaxes them and brings them joy. In the same way, writing can be done simply for the enjoyment of both the writer and the reader- about various topics, none of which are necessarily extremely deep or important. Although I do hope you can learn a little something or get a little inspiration from each post 😉

Here are a few goals I have for my blog:

  • Post at least once a week
  • Have a least one ‘guest’ writer once a month; this can be my friends or family.
  • Come up with creative/fun content each week to write about
  • Add/upload one good quality picture a week

signature

6 thoughts on “Welcome!

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

