Thanksgiving Jar

Before we begin, no, the ‘thanksgiving’ referred to in the title is not the North American Holiday. It’s still a bit early for that! It is something quite different. Today, I wanted to share a little idea/craft to start doing. It is something that has helped me immensely- and it’s very easy to do!

I can’t quite recall where I heard about this idea, but I decided to start on January 1st of this year.

Rejoice always,  pray without ceasing, give thanks in all circumstances; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you. – 1 Thessalonians 5:16-18

What it is, is a jar where every single day you write down one thing you are thankful for. It can be written on scrap paper, or what I do is write on a sticky note and simply tear that bit off. You then put the piece of paper in the jar. Easy!

Initially, I just kept adding paper month after month. However, I have found it easier to empty the jar after one month in order to keep it more ‘organized’. Once the month is over, I transfer all the bits of paper into a notebook I organize by month. This is a great way to review all the good times during the month, as well as organize it all and keep it tidier. I use a small notebook that resembles a piece of chocolate with a big bite taken out of it (speaking of which: chocolate is something I am very thankful for!).

I would recommend, though, actually using a spiral bound notebook, since the lining is less likely to get stretched.

I can’t say how much this simple thing has helped me. The slips of paper can serve as a an important reminder of all the good, during particularly hard days or rough times. I find flipping through the pages looking at all I am blessed with is a good way to take a breath and relax. It’s easy to get overwhelmed with all we feel is wrong or what we are missing, that we forget how much we have and how much is out there. Being reminded of all there is to be thankful for (even the simple things) can be quite calming.

Finally, brothers and sisters, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable–if anything is excellent or praiseworthy–think about such things. – Philippians 4:8

Additionally, this can also be a good way to take the time to think about how much there is to be thankful for. What I realized early on is that once the few first days are over, it could be hard to find things to be thankful for. Yes, I am thankful for a loving God, and amazing family and friends, but I needed to think deeper than that. I am thankful for God’s creation, for a wise mother, a strong father, sweet siblings. Starting this thankfulness jar has helped me think of all the small things, that in the larger scheme of things help in a big way. It’s a great way to end the day by reflecting on the small things that make life great- hot cups of tea, beautiful wildflowers, a special event etc. etc. This is a great way to remember all that God has done for me, and continues to do for me. As well as reminding me how much of a powerful and loving Father we have, who creates such intricate and beautiful artwork in the everyday. Just take a look around, and I am sure you can find something to be thankful for.

It’s not too late to try it out! Let me know if you do, and how you like it 🙂

signature

4 thoughts on “Thanksgiving Jar

Add yours

  1. I was actually thinking about doing something like this a few days ago when I was thinking about all the things I was thankful for. I was just going to write a list on my computer and add to it each day, but I really love the jar and notebook idea! It must be lovely to look back through it. I’ll have to give it a try!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

