Classics, Classics, Classics

Ah, the classics. The novels and poems that never seem to go out of style no matter how long has passed. I suppose they are called ‘classics’ because they can be, and are, read over and over again years after first being published. Their stories resonate with readers today, and never fail to grow old.

I only started reading classic literature a few years ago, but now I find it to be one of my favorite genres, though I used to find the idea of them intimidating. I remember I once got ‘The Count of Monte Cristo’ out on hold from the library, and the moment I set my eyes on the book I immediately put it back! It was absolutely huge! I did not have the time to read it, since it was almost exam time.

Here are a three reasons I personally enjoy reading classics:

  1. I love the language. I find there is something about the language and the voice of the authors that sounds more poetic and fluid. Yes, it does take some time to get used to the style of writing, but once I became more comfortable with it I fell in love with the language!
  2. I generally don’t have to worry about reading anything too inappropriate. It can be hard sometimes to find books that are ‘clean’, but unless you read certain novels that were banned at the time, they are usually more appropriate.
  3. I love the insight I gain into the culture and lifestyles of those that lived long before us- since I am reading about it directly from a source of the time!

Below are a few of the classics I have read and enjoyed!

complex.com

The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald

Book cover for Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen
tripping overbooks.com

Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen

pagepulp.com

The Invisible Man by H.G Wells

Book Cover:  Little Women
puffin.com.au

Little Women by Louisa May Alcott

Image result for wuthering heights cover
ustarnovels.com

Wuthering Heights by Emily Brontë

Image result for jane eyre book cover
bookriot.com

Jane Eyre by Charlotte Brontë

Image result for the screwtape letters book cover
amazon.com

The Screwtape Letters by C.S Lewis

Image result for Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde book cover
pinterest.com

Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde by Robert Louis Stevenson

My older sister, a few Christmases ago, gave me a huge book of seven of Jane Austen’s Novels, so those are fairly high at the top of my priority list to read. I’m also planning on starting Mansfield Park with a friend *hint hint* (you know who you are 😉 ), which should be loads of fun.

Have you read many of the classics? If so, did you enjoy them?

signature

 

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

